Tuesday, 25 Jan 2022


[singlepic id=33 w=320 h=240 mode=web20 float=right]I’m Arjan Koole, I am 33 years young and I live in Hoorn (NH), The Netherlands. I have a wonderful Scottish girlfriend named Kirsteen, who recently moved in with me, after living in Vienna.

My ex-wife Petra and I have a daughter, Femke, she was born on the 7th of June, 2007. (7-6-7, for an aviation nut like me, that is hilarious). This remarkable little girl is growing and learning fast, and is a constant cause for a smile on my face. 😀

Currently I work for Mirabeau in Hoorn, as an application engineer, and am also involved in the virtualisation team. Before joining Mirabeau in November of 2009 I worked as an application engineer / network engineer for Lost Boys in Amsterdam. Besides my new job being quite challenging, an added benefit is that it’s so close to home, that I can, for the first time in my life, go to work on my bike, and not use public transport. Healthy too!

Before all this I lived in Dordrecht (ZH), and worked for Wirehub! Internet (later acquired by Easynet) and did pretty much the same thing, except for the network stuff. My official title then was systems engineer.

My musical taste is fairly broad, but the main style of my preference is hard rock / metal. (any kind). But you can find me listening to most other kinds of music too, though I tend to dislike stuff like Hip-Hop and R&B.

FreeBSD logo (Small)I’m sort off a FreeBSD advocate, though by no means in an official capacity. I do try my best to tell people about FreeBSD, how powerfull and well suited it is, and why they should concider using it. I’ve had some moderate successes doing that. 🙂

you can contact me through the form on this page.